Fred Hersch Songbook – 2023 Edition (PDF)

by Fred Hersch

20.00 incl. VAT (MwSt.)

This is a brand new compilation of vocal Compositions by Fred Hersch. It includes a full score, a vocal part, a piano part and a lyric sheet for every song. The book contains songs with lyrics by Norma Winstone, Scott Morgan, Cheryl Pyle, David Hadju and Fred Hersch himself.

Product Description

This book contains 21 songs by Fred with lyrics by Norma Winstone, David Hajdu, Cheryl Pyle, Scott Morgan, Mary Jo Salter and Fred himself. Several are on multiple keys to accommodate various vocal ranges, some have separate vocal and piano parts as well as the full score; and all have separate lyric sheets.

Table of content:

1. Bird In The Rain (The Sad Bird)

2. A Child’s Song (Child’s Song)

3. A Dance for Me (Rain Waltz)

4. Don’t Ask

5. Dream of Monk

6. The Eighth Deadly Sin

7. Good Things Happen Slowly

8. I’ll Follow (Mandevilla)

9. Invitation to the Dance (Sarabande)

10. Lazin’ Around

11. Longing (At the Close of the Day)

12. Lost In Another Time (Days Gone By)

13. Ode to the Sea (A Speech to the Sea)

14. Paparazzi

15. A Song for All Ages (Child’s Song)

16. A Child’s Song (alternate lyrics)

17.Song of Life (Heartsong)

18. Songs & Lullabies

19. Spirits (Echoes)

20. Stars (Endless Stars)

21. To Music (Up in The Air)

22. A West Virginia Rose

23. A Wish (Valentine)

138 pages, written and edited by Fred Hersch himself.

Fred Hersch is a select member of jazz’s piano pantheon and has long defined jazz’s creative edge. As a pervasively influential creative force he has shaped the music’s course over more than three decades as an improviser, composer, educator, bandleader, collaborator and recording artist. Hersch was proclaimed “the most arrestingly innovative pianist in jazz over the last decade” by Vanity Fair. He is a fifteen-time Grammy Award nominee.
Fred Hersch has earned similar distinction with his writing, garnering a 2003 Guggenheim Fellowship in Composition among several other awards.